Timubo Cave

The entrance of Timubo Cave

The entrance of Timubo Cave

I find caves amazing but I’m not really a fan. I’m a bit claustrophobic but I’m glad that I had the chance to visit Timubo, not as popular as Bukilat in Tudela but it still draws countless visitors because of its fascinating rock formation and its fairly easy to penetrate – good for folks like me.

The underground water is fresh and invigorating. At first I thought that water is salty because of its proximity to the sea, actually its fresh water and taste sweet – I was told by the Guide that the water is naturally filtered before it drips down to the natural lagoon inside the cave, he said it’s safe to drink, I don’t know if that’s true but I tried.

I had a great time observing the natural wonder the cave offered. Entrance is 15 pesos; the cave administrators had positioned lights and paved ladder so moving down would be safe. The water that has been dripping from above has shaped cones out of stone, creating a landscape reminiscent of alien terra. At the end of the cave is a pool of water, visitors end their trip here swimming the cool refreshing water.

The narrow path towards the underwater lagoon

The narrow path towards the underwater lagoon

Interesting rock formation

Interesting rock formation

Resting after reaching the end of the cave

Resting after reaching the end of the cave


Leave a Reply

