Dancing for History

While waiting for my chow at the Metromall Alabang food court I was entertained by at least a few classical Filipino dances by teenagers representing the cultural dance group of Muntinlupa. The dance troupe was composed of young people passionate about Filipino dances. I love listening to that old rondalla music.Admittedly, I am not a admirer of dances, old and new, though I was forced to dance tinikling and pandango sa ilao in elementary (which traumatized me in ways that bother me to this day!) I never grew up liking it. But now that I’ve grown up a bit, I’m starting to appreciate it a little more (I’m referring to old Filipino dances of course), though I’m still not going to put on my dancing shoes anytime soon, at least I now can see how it can connect us to our past. Filipino dance’s vital role in linking our generation to our old culture could not be denied – it remains as one of the most identifiable forms of Filipino art and society.

April 2010

One response to “Dancing for History

Leave a Reply

