Some Photos of Old Houses in Tagbilaran

Twice I came to Tagbilaran but never wrote anything. I could be lazy at times. While I was looking at some folders containing pictures of Bohol churches I saw the pictures I took of the old houses in Tagbilaran back in 2009.

A rare bahay na bato with tisa roofing. This one is in the area called causeway. There many other extant old houses in a place called Sitio Ubos (the old Parian district during the Spanish era). Its worth the visit.

The roofing of this house has recently been replaced with galvanized sheet. There are several houses (near the bridge to Panglao Island) in this part of Tagbilaran that are well kept.

A beautiful old house where the lower floor is made into a bakery while the upper portion the residence.

Both trips were in ’09. The first was the longest. I spent three days just going around. I went as far as Carmen. Visiting all the significant old towns as I pass by. Even got lost for hours somewhere Duero – thanks to a man (who once work as a security guard in Cubao) who together with his daughter helped me find my way back.  I’ll never forget the Boholanon’s kindness and generosity – especially those have far less than most of us do. They’re such an amazing people.

During the second day of my first visit, leaving Loboc, I was surprised to see Boom Boom Bautista driving his own jeepney (with spray painted logos of “Ala Boxing”). He was very popular there. People were buzzing their horns when they see him, calling him idol. I went on his jeep and had a photo with him taken in Dau Tagbilaran.

My attempt to reach Talibon, the town where President Carlos P. Garcia was born and raised didn’t materialized due to bad weather. Last year, while I was in Iloilo I met a cousin who married a Boholana. They applied for a permit in BFAD to operate a drugstore in Bohol. Since they knew that I’m presently residing in Muntinlupa (where this government office is located) they sought for my assistance. I found out later, when I asked them where to send the documents to, that they’re from Talibon. They’ve extended an invitation for me to visit them when I’m in Bohol. I’m looking forward to making it this time.

Colorful windows of what appears to be a house built post war. What’s nice about some of the old houses in Tagbilaran is that they are being “reused”.

A large brown painted house in downtown Tagbilaran.

The second visit was shorter yet memorable because I crossed from Cebu using the Argao-Loon route. A less popular route to Bohol. I went back to Cebu the next day. Argao and Loon are the closest land point between these two islands. Loon, a Jesuit founded town, was the first to resist American forces during the Philippine-American war. Unfortunately, I did not see the Birhen sa Kasilak (Nuestra Señora de la Luz) on the day of my visit. I headed straight to Tagbilaran because night was fast approaching and I need to find lodging.

On a clear day, standing in Argao, you could clearly see the windows of the houses in Bohol.


2 responses to “Some Photos of Old Houses in Tagbilaran

  • Cooper Resabal

    I didn’t know Loon was the first town to resist American occupation in Bohol in 1900. But the leaders during the Commonwealth era left a clear marker of their change of allegiance. Just look at the statue of Rizal on the grounds near the church. There’s a statue of liberty facsimile on top of a dome over Rizal’s head!

    • De AnDA

      @Cooper – Its an important historical town. Bohol was the setting of “amigo”, a movie about the Filipino war against the US in the 1900’s. I can’t wait to see Bohol again.

Leave a Reply

