Mommy Amparo’s “New Life”

The priest who conducted mass the night I was at the wake had a very good sermon. He spoke about mortality and the meaning of death for us Christians. His opening words were, “Let us congratulate Amparo for her new life… she’s now with our Lord”.

Mommy Amparo must be loving where she’s at right now. She was 83 and by any measure that’s a full life. Our generation will probably no longer reach such age. Recent studies puts our life expectancy at a lil’ over 60. The trend is getting shorter.

It was nice seeing some of the people I grew up with at the wake of my adopted grandma. Most of the grandchildren flew in from the states to be with their beloved “Wawa”. She have so many great grandkids running around that I lost count.

“Times like these brings everybody together”, said James, the youngest grandson. Everybody looked up to her where I came. She sometimes can be overly generous that some people took advantage.

She’s one of the happiest person I’ve ever met. “She’s always optimistic, always happy, always reassuring”, her grandson said.

People never run out of special stories about Mommy. Almost everyone has a favorite “Mommy” moment. I’m sure those who’ll visit her in the coming days would reminded of theirs.

My favorite comes from a woman whose mother was once a street sweeper (metro aide). She said that she’ll never forget how Mommy would always come out of her house to remind her mother to rehydrate because of the heat. Mommy loves people and she gets along with everyone fine. It’s amazing how people remember even the smallest details of such act of kindness.

Its true what they say, people would remember you with what you shared, not what you took.

My brother, who just got back from Australia, remembers Mommy asking him to buy her “yosi (Hope menthol) and Beer (of course San Miguel)”.

I often do that for her and not return the sukli! Of course she knows but I guess she tolerated the behavior so I can buy candies and toys.

She’s no health buff so we are all left to guess where her longevity can be attributed to. It never cease to amaze me how resilient people from her generation are.

She looked at peace. Maaliwalas ang kanyang mukha, maganda pa din s’yempre. She looked like she was just sleeping. I already miss her smile and her laughter. I should’ve visited her more often before. But the past few years, her health was on a declined. Last time I saw her, she could no longer see. It was difficult for me to see her that way. Her youngest grandson, James, did a great job looking after her. Talk about unconditional love.

This coming Sunday will be the internment.

Leave a Reply

