Going to St. Peregrine Laziosi Parish

Though I’m not in any official capacity in the parish, I continue to received emails and messages asking for directions on how to go to St. Peregrine. I have only my faulty writing to blame. Some people find it odd that for what appears to be a travel blog, the article I wrote does not have any directions on how to get there.

I’ve been getting so many queries on St. Peregrine (and the Asilo in Paco, which I also wrote about here, and have to soon write directions for as well) since that blog came out about three years ago. I would like to add a not so detailed guide on how to go to St. Peregrine Laziosi Parish in the hopes that it might help people who wants to see the church.

I know that most of those who wanted to visit the church are persons with illnesses and disability, and their families. And I wish that all of those who makes it experience healing, both spiritually and physically. I recently loss an uncle to cancer. I wish things could have been different. But God has other plans.

What makes the church special is that of all the churches named after St. Peregrine, it’s the only one that have, literally, a piece of him. Enshrined in the church is a relic (a rib bone) from the Italian saint considered to be the patron of cancer patients. The guy is an interesting man. He started as a hard core anti-cleric that later converted. A story about him was that once he slapped and humiliated a priest for preaching. When he converted he joined the Order of the Servants of Mary. The guy that he slapped became his superior. I don’t know if Philip, who also became a saint, gave him harder penance. I surely would if I was him!

The Servite Friars built the church in the mid 1980’s. They’re one of the first mendicant orders of the church. They have quite a history. They were established just 18 years after the Dominicans, and 11 years before the Augustinians! When I heard about them (and that their church is not that far from where I live) I started attending mass there. It was also around this time that I switched to the Rosary of the Seven Dolors. To be perfectly honest, my preference to it has something to do with it taking a much shorter time to recite. I’ve always treasured my old rosaries but never got to fully commit praying it. Too lazy to take it up. When I found out about the Rosary of the Seven Dolors it made me, at least, devout sometime for prayer and meditation.

I don’t know why the Servite Order picked Muntinlupa. But I’m glad that they did. They also took under their administration the chapel in the prison grounds. Its interesting to note that the oldest church in Muntinlupa was dedicated to Nuestra Señora de los Desamparados. So there’s a history of devotion to our Mother that dates back to the Spanish times. Interestingly, at least for me, I was born in Sta. Ana where Nuestra Señora de los Desamparados, is not only a religious devotion but a historical symbol.

Going to St Peregrine (from North):

Take a bus going to Pacita (Pacita complex), San Pedro via Susana Exit. Ask the conductor if they will take the Susana exit because there are Pacita buses now that exits via Southwoods – you don’t want to be in this one. You need to be in a Pacita bound bus that exits via Susana. Tell the conductor to remind you where St. Peregrine is. A good reference point is SM Muntinlupa. The church is around 500 meters from this establishment.

The church is less than a kilometer away from the San Pedro – Muntinlupa boundary.

The fare depends on what point in EDSA you’re taking the bus. A ride from Cubao (and this was just last year when I was still there) costs around 60-80 pesos. But with how crazy gas and diesel prices increases, I really don’t know what’s the present fare.

If you’re coming from Manila, you should be able to ride a bus that ply the same route. You can find these bus terminals near Buendia.

If your coming from Taguig and Paranaque area, ride a jeep or bus that goes straight to Alabang and from Alabang (near Metropolis) take a jeep that have Binan, Muntinlupa, Pacita signboards. Its important that you take the one that have these names because these are the ones that goes to the National Rd. and not the South Expressway.

Thanks to SM, although known to be a historical heritage destroyer, at least they serve as good reference point. If you’re coming from Alabang, SM Muntinlupa would be on your left and from here, the church is only about 500 meters away.

From South

If you’re from the Southern areas. The same thing applies. Just avoid jeeps and buses that goes to South Express way because you’ll miss the church. Make sure that you get on a jeep that have Binan, Pacita, Muntinlupa and Alabang on its signboards. Buses from the south are not allowed in Muntinlupa so most likely you’ll have to take a jeep ride in Calamba or Sta. Rosa (or which ever is closest to you).

An alternative, and I believe this makes sense for those that are coming from Batangas and the far Laguna towns, is to take a bus all the way to Alabang and from there take a jeep going to St. Peregrine. Ride a jeep going to Binan, Muntinlupa, Pacita – and alight in St. Peregrine.

The church is located along the National Rd., so its easy to locate. I hope i didn’t confuse people more with these instructions. Just wanted to help. That’s all.

One response to “Going to St. Peregrine Laziosi Parish

Leave a Reply

