I Want Some Creedence

I woke up this morning craving to hear some Creedence.

Yeah. That legendary band from Cerritos that created some of the greatest rock music in the 60’s.

Fortunate Son, is THE universal anthem of anti-war America. It came out around the time their country bit more than it can swallow in Vietnam.

“Fortunate Son” is easily, top 10 in the greatest rock n’ roll song list.

I was not around when Vietnam was happening but man, when you hear CCR you get transported to the America of their time. Like magic.

John said he only wanted to make music that would be around for a decade. I think he underestimated the legacy of Creedence’s music.

Fogerty recalls watching a TV ad that gave him that idea for the name for the band.

He must’ve been smokin’ some good stuff. Creedence Clear Water Revival. Only in an altered state of mind can someone come up with that kind of name and rhyme!

Grew up hearing Creedence. We had the tapes in the 80’s then my brother bought that classic black box CD set in the 90’s.

Today, I just listen to their songs in Grooveshark on line. And it’s like how it was when I first heard that grungy husky voice of John Fogerty and that fast Americana band stand style.

Too bad the band broke up during what I believe was their artistic peak. Success most of the time breaks those who achieves it.

These guys never reconciled over their contractual and legal disputes. So bad was the feud amongst them that John never spoke to his brother again. Tom died in the 90’s.John in an interview “regrets” not reaching out.

The younger Fogerty now plays with his new band and has had some success. But his voice has change considerably. Which is strange – he lost that magical rock voice he had when he was younger.

Doug and Stu established their own band that plays the old hits from their CCR days.

In the 1993 Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame induction, the remaining members received the award. They all acted as though they never made music together.

Makes you think if money is a good thing to have.

photo courtesy of topclassicrocksongs.com


3 responses to “I Want Some Creedence

  • John Earle

    Thanks for your posts which I continue to read with great interest wherever I am – at home in the UK or in Hong Kong, Singapore, Beijing, etc. I am currently in Bacolod City and last weekend spent a fascinating couple of days on Guimaras Island, just off Iloilo City.

    My friends took me up to Guisi Point which has a fairly modern lighthouse but it also has an old one made of iron which is quietly rotting away. There are also the ruins of what I assume to be a small military garrison which would have serviced the old lighthouse. No one at the Tourist Board on the island or indeed none of my friends there knew anything about the history of the island or indeed anything about the old lighthouse so I thought of asking you (and your readers!).

    I completed my Master’s degree dissertation last year on Nicholas Loney and the British contribution to the growth of the sugar industry on Panay and Negros and am now pursuing my research further for a PhD in British-Philippine relations in the century from 1850. I am naturally keen to know more about such things as the Guisi Point lighthouse so anything you can tell me or pointers you can give me would be very gratefully received.

    John Earle

    • De AnDA

      Hi John. Good to hear from you my friend, as always. I’ll try to look for answers. To be honest, I came to that place and didn’t even noticed that lighthouse. It was a brief detour and I was after the islands sweet mangos. I’ll get back right to you. That find of yours is sure interesting.

      • John Earle

        As with so many things in the Philippines connected with heritage, information about the lighthouse is difficult to find on the island. There is a picture of the lighthouse in the Tourist Office but it is in a general leaflet which is totally inadequate for anyone wanting to know more. I asked in the Tourist Office and also asked some local people where I could buy a book giving the history of the island but no one had any idea if such a thing existed. I have tracked down various bits of information about the island but all of them omit the whole of the 19th century.

        Another interesting place is Balaan Bukid. Although it is at a very high point on the island with wonderful views over Iloilo City, it is something which a visitor could easily miss. It requires a 30 minute walk up an unmarked rocky path and then you have to arrange to have the barrier opened by the family who live at the entrance to the highest point.

        This is my third visit to the Philippines and I detect a slightly more positive spirit in the country. In time, the benefits of an improving economy will filter through to heritage projects but some things will be lost before that happens.

        In the past few days, I have had fascinating conversations with two well educated and intelligent Filipinos – one a surgeon and the other a rebel priest – about the RH bill which gave me a different perspective on some of the issues. However, that is off the subject of this post.

        John

        PS. The mangos on Guimaras are just wonderful, the best I have ever tasted.

Leave a Reply

