Water and Greens

Fresh air. Clear water. Good sun. Robbin’ monkeys.

Fascinating is how Singapore manages to allocate nature reserves in their already shrinking land space.

I recently visited the MacRitchie Reservoir to see some nature. And oh boy did I get up close with nature.

While walking along the reservoir, a foot sized monkey snatched the plastic bag I was carrying. It had my calorie rich choco cookies in it that I plan to eat while I’m out there.

The monkey didn’t even bother to run to the forest. Damn creature ate what he stole right in front of his victim!

Brings to mind those cruel bags and jewelry snatchers of Manila who’d steal in broad day light.

But those monkeys of MacRitchie are part of that watershed’s ecosystem. I actually find them cute. But I didn’t attempt to recover my item. They bite like hell. I know someone back home that got bitten. You don’t mess with these little f*****s.

Human contact has taught these primates to steal and scavenge for food in the garbage bins. Left in the wild, they’d forage for food on their own.

The food visitors leaves behind and scraps not properly disposed means easy food for these scrappy animals.

Feeding has been outlawed, with a stiff fine of 5 thousand dollars no one in his right mind would throw food intentionally to these monkeys.

Now, that’s what I call a good a deterrent.

But trouble is that the hudredth monkey has already figured out how to source their food from human leftovers.

Seeing these monkeys made me think about how close we really are to them.

He lost his lunch but he’s still a happy man.

This better be kept clean. This is our drinking well.

Planks, nuts and bolts for a board walk.

That’s not what you think it is.

Descendants of the ferns some dinosaurs use to feed from. They’ve been around for some time.

The sun fast setting over yonder.

Full cycle – death and then life.

Though not as smart as monkeys, ants, should get credit for folding leaves to make shelter.

Some trees are far more important than others. Not only did they spared this one, they designed the foot walk to go underneath this fortune tree.

A British legacy. The reservoir was named after an English engineer who supervised the development of infrastructure around the islands during his tenure.

The reservoir has boardwalk and trails built along its bank. The boardwalk are made of wood which makes it perfect for some running. The forest is opened to the public by wonderful trails that even children can safely enjoy.

I saw some kids lure fishing. I should try it one day. It looks fun – I need it. These days, my career seem to be heading the opposite direction. Stress comes to me in heavy dosages. Though I’m not one that goes overboard thinking about problems – a little fishing is good, I think.

Next time I’ll try to go to the other side of the reservoir. Equipped with a fishing rod and no longer carrying a bagful of cookies for safe measure…

Leave a Reply

